BBQ Country Style Ribs/Grilled Pineapple Shortcake with Brown Sugar Rum Sauce

Welcome to the Herbivore and the Carnivore! We’re really excited about our first post.

After a long couple weeks of both of us finishing finals and moving home, we’ve both officially finished our junior years of college. Yep, time is flying. So to celebrate, we decided to break out the grill to make some BBQ. And oh man, what a way to welcome in the summer.

As the Carnivore is quick to point out, these country side ribs are what they call faux-Q, since we don’t have a smoker (yet…). But, that’s not to say that these ribs weren’t delicious. My whole family we’re thrilled. He usually opts for a dry rub/thinner sauce combination as opposed to the thick, gloppy sauce you may see elsewhere. So without further ado, here’s the Carnivore’s recipe!

Look at that meaty goodness! As for me, I got a delicious swordfish steak. Unfortunately I didn’t take enough good pictures to prove it, but trust me on this one, it was awesome. For sides, we kept it simple with some peas and some good ol’ Kraft mac and cheese. There’s something so nostalgic about that blue box. It may not be as good as my mom’s mac and cheese (if I can convince her to share her recipe, I MUST post it, it’s my favorite food), but sometimes it just scratches an itch.

The chef and his smiling sous-chef

And now for my portion of the meal….dessert!

Since we were already breaking out the grill, we decided to grill up some pineapple. I love grilled pineapple because it creates a great char that plays so well with the super sweet pineapple. To pair with this delicious fruit, I decided to make some shortcake along with a delicious brown sugar rum sauce (recipe courtesy of Cookin Canuck). We also added some vanilla ice cream, and whipped cream to make this dessert as sinfully amazing as possible. I must say, I think it was pretty successful. The only issue that I ran into was that the brown sugar rum sauce, while delicious, thickens quite quickly if you make it too far ahead. To prevent this, I tried cutting off the heat, but then the sauce began to separate a bit. All in all, it really didn’t make that much of a difference. I still found myself resisting to the urge to lick the plate.

To make the shortcake:

Whisk together the flour, sugar, and baking powder.

Cut in the butter using a pastry blender if you have one. If not, a food processor, or if you’re like me and don’t feel like cleaning the food processor, you can cut it in by hand using two knives. Here’s what the texture should look like in the end:

Stir in the milk until the dough comes together. It will be pretty sticky. Next, turn the dough out onto a clean, lightly floured surface. Knead the dough a few times to make sure it comes together before rolling it out to a half inch thickness and use whatever you can find to cut out circle shapes.

By the time the shortcake was made, and dinner was eaten, I admittedly got a little lazy with the camera. I don’t have any pictures of the sauce making process, nor the pineapple grilling. Yep, I know, bummer. Sorry. But! I managed to rustle up enough will power to take a picture of the finished dessert before sticking my face in it….I mean eating it neatly with a knife and fork…

Look at those dark edges! And that oozing brown sugar rum sauce! So tasty. Must make this again and again.

Cookin Canuck recipe: Grilled Pineapple with Brown Sugar Rum Sauce

Shortcake recipe from Tasty Comforts of North Georgia: Shortcake

If all our dishes turn out this well, this is going to be one tasty summer. Thanks for reading!

-The Herbivore

2 thoughts on “BBQ Country Style Ribs/Grilled Pineapple Shortcake with Brown Sugar Rum Sauce

Leave a Reply

